India Cricket Team 2016: Schedule, Squad For Australia ODI, T20I Series Down Under

While a proposed series with Pakistan now looks almost certain not to happen for the foreseeable future, preparations for India’s tour of Australia are stepping up. In the past few days India’s cricket board announced the squads that will compete in both One-Day international and Twenty20 series Down Under next month. And they have also confirmed that limited-overs captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni will remain in place, at least through until next year’s World T20.

There were real hopes that India would currently be taking on Pakistan in just the fierce rivals’ second bilateral series since 2007 and the Mumbai terror attacks the following year. But while both countries’ cricket authorities agreed to a proposed shortened series in Sri Lanka, India’s government is believed to have prevented it from going ahead.

As a result, attention now turns to Australia and what are some hugely important contests for India, and especially Dhoni. The pressure has been on the 34-year-old ever since India’s ODI side followed up the relinquishing of their World Cup title to Australia with a first-ever series defeat to Bangladesh in June. With India then losing both T20 and ODI series to South Africa on home soil in October, questions have continued to be asked about whether Dhoni is still the right man to lead the team forward. In an effort to quash such talk, the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s chairman of selectors reaffirmed the commitment to Dhoni until the World T20, which will take place in India from March to April, 2016.

ODI Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (Captain), (Wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rishi Dhawan, Brainder Balbirsingh Sran.

T20I Squad
: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (Captain), (Wicketkeeper), Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Harbhajan Singh, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

T20 India Team Squad

India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2016 Match ICC WC